EPA Revokes a Permit for Decapitating Mountains


ButtonsWrap-up – The Brand New Texas Observer Rabble Rouser!

The 10th annual Rabble Rouser Round-Up and Fat Cat Schmoozefest shook the halls of the Emma Barrientos Mexican American Cultural Center on 2/2/11.  It was a true community celebration with outstanding contributions from many. We’d like to thank a few of those who made it all possible:

Our dedicated sponsors: Community Leader Lisa Blue Baron Agitators Alec Rhodes, Sharron Rush and Ron Hicks  Rabble Rousers Gilberto Ocañas, Jesse Oliver, Planet K Gifts; Legislative Sponsors Nancy Alliegro, Lloyd Doggett, Deece Eckstein, Melissa Jones, Susan Longley, Eve MacArthur, Jim Marston, Mary Nell Mathis, Jim Thatcher and Diana Seidel, Kelly White. Venue sponsors Austin City Council members Mike Martinez, Laura Morrison and Randi Shade

Program participants
Genevieve Van Cleve was an outstanding emcee who delivered a program that was lively, insightful, and fun!  Senator Barrientos struck a high note to start the evening with his welcome message.  Jim Hightower was at his Rabble Rousing best, leading the progressive pep rally that lived up to the event name. Austin’s own Representative Naishtat introduced Representative Sylvester Turner who inspired us all with his eloquent look to the future of our state and the challenges facing the Next Generation of Leaders.

GarzaThe People’s Friend Recognition and Award
The Rabble Rouser recognized the 2011 Tyrant’s Foes and presented the $1000 People’s Friend award. Tyrant’s Foes Eddie Aldrete, Ted & Betty Dotts, Nedezhda & Anayanse Garza, Tarsha Jackson, Hilton Kelly, Adan Muñoz, Jr., John Jordan Otte, Israel Reyna, Jamie Schanbaum, Calvin Tillman, and Diane Wilson The 2010 People’s Friend Nedezhda & Anayanse Garza (more at www.texasobserver.org/tyrants-foe)

The 2011 Texas Democracy Foundation Next Generation Leaders
The Rabble Rouser introduced the first class of Next Gen Leaders: Carlos Calle, Sean Chitty, Jennifer Cooper, Brian Dupre, Vanessa Fuentes, Christina Gomez, Anita Grabowski, Trevor Lovell, Angela, Jo Medina, Amaury Nora, Weston Norton, Michael Stapp, Tanya Tarr, Matthew Tejada, Mykle Tomlinson, Glynn Wilcox, Andy Wilson, Alex Winslow, and Curt Yowell. (more at www.texasobserver.org/next-gen)

Rep. Sylvester Turner introduces our 2011 Next Gen Leaders.
Photo - Next Gen Leaders

Food catered by
CinnaMan Desserts, Creative Creations Catering, and Hoover’s. Coffee courtesy of Central Market.

Invitation, program and poster artwork
The incomparable Libby Farris.

Outstanding photographer Alan Pogue.

Rabble Rouser committee
These outstanding supporters were tireless and we are tremendously grateful for their extraordinary effort.  Hats off to event chair Sharron Rush, silent auction chair Cherry Kugel, registration chair Kate Fain and the entire committee: Nancy Alliegro, Carlton Carl, Rachel Farris, Molly Moore, Susan Morris, Laurie Payne, Abby Rapoport, Sharron Rush, Eric Scott, Luba Sinclair, Betsy Thaggard, Viviane Tondeur and Nancy Williams.

Our fabulous auction donors
The ACLU of Texas, All Things Considered, Jeanne Arquel, Austin Film Festival, Brenda Berstis, Sarah Bird, Carlton Carl, Cinnaman Villa, Candace Duval, Alison Eden, Face the Nation, Ty & Kate Fain, George Farris, Gordon Fowler, Fresh Air, Barry George, Ellen Gibbs, Malcolm Greenstein, Ann Hartley, Ann Herbage, Jim Hightower, Allan & Louise Hirst, Jim Holland, Inn Above Onion Creek, D’Ann Johnson, Janet Eager Krueger, Cherry Kugel, Dick Lavine, Dick Leverich, Laura Maclay, Vivian Mahlab, Phil Mathis, Glen Maxey, Davis McLarty, The Melancholy Ramblers, Miles of Chocolate, Betsy Moon, Elliott Naishtat, The Natural Gardener, Nancy Neavel, Paula’s Texas Spirits, Alan Pogue, Amie Rodnick, Ben Sargent, Diana Seidel, Barbara Schlief, Sleeping Dogs Studio, Paul Stekler, Sarah Stevens, Ellen Sweets, Taylor-Made Tutoring, Tesoros Trading Co., Texas A&M University Press, Texas Healing Arts Institute, University of Texas Press, C.D. Weaver, Witliff Galleries, and Doug Zabel.

Until next year, keep Rabble Rousing and fighting to fix the world…and have fun doing it!