The Molly Awards

Texas Observer co-editors Kaye Northcott and Molly Ivins.  Texas Observer

Molly is our legend. Her editorial run here lasted six years, from 1970 through 1976, when we lent her back to the wider world. Thing is, she never quite left: Her irreverence and irrepressibility continue to help define the Observer. Her love for the organization and drive to make it go left us, when she died in 2007, a clear path to the future.

We named the MOLLY (always all caps) Prize after her as way to honor this legacy. Winners represent the best in American journalism; reporters willing to tell stories that need telling. They’ve included Michael Grabell and Howard Berkes of ProPublica and NPR, Shane Bauer of Mother Jones, Joseph Neff, the News & Observer, Esther Kaplan of the Virginia Quarterly Review, Dave Philipps of The Gazette (Colorado Springs), and Sarah Stillman of the New Yorker.

Each year, winners are feted at a dinner here in Austin. Past keynoters of the event include Joan Walsh, Jose Antonio Vargas, Dan Rather, Ellen Goodman, Seymour Hersh, Gail Collins, Paul Krugman, Connie Schultz, John Quiñones and Jamelle Bouie.

Learn more about the MOLLY Prize here. Learn more about the MOLLY Prize dinner here.