The Creature from Choke Canyon

Wrap-up – The Brand New Texas Observer Rabble Rouser!


The 10th annual Rabble Rouser Round-Up and Fat Cat Schmoozefest shook the halls of the Emma Barrientos Mexican American Cultural Center on 2/2/11.  It was a true community celebration with outstanding contributions from many. We’d like to thank a few of those who made it all possible:

OUR DEDICATED SPONSORS Community Leader Lisa Blue Baron Agitators Alec Rhodes, Sharron Rush and Ron Hicks  Rabble Rousers Gilberto Ocañas, Jesse Oliver, Planet K Gifts Legislative Sponsors Nancy Alliegro, Deece Eckstein, Melissa Jones, Susan Longley, Eve MacArthur, Mary Nell Mathis, Jim Thatcher and Diana Seidel, and Kelly White. Donors Carlton Carl, U.S. Representative Lloyd Doggett, and Jim Marston. Venue Sponsors Austin City Council members Mike Martinez, Laura Morrison and Randi Shade

Program participants
Genevieve Van Cleve was an outstanding emcee who delivered a program that was lively, insightful, and fun! Former State Senator Gonzalo Barrientos struck a high note to start the evening with his welcome message.  Jim Hightower was at his Rabble Rousing best, leading the progressive pep rally that lived up to the event name. Austin’s own State Representative Naishtat introduced State Representative Sylvester Turner of Houston who inspired us all with his eloquent look to the future of our state and the challenges facing the Next Generation of Leaders.  

GarzaThe People’s Friend Recognition and Award
The Rabble Rouser recognized the 2011 Tyrant’s Foes and presented the $1000 People’s Friend award. Tyrant’s Foes Eddie Aldrete, Ted & Betty Dotts, Nedezhda & Anayanse Garza, Tarsha Jackson, Hilton Kelly, Adan Muñoz, Jr., John Jordan Otte, Walter Reave, Israel Reyna, Jamie Schanbaum, Calvin Tillman, and Diane Wilson The 2010 People’s Friend Nedezhda & Anayanse Garza (more at

The 2011 Texas Democracy Foundation Next Generation Leaders
The Rabble Rouser introduced the first class of Next Gen Leaders: Carlos Calle, Sean Chitty, Jennifer Cooper, Brian Dupre, Vanessa Fuentes, Christina Gomez, Anita Grabowski, Trevor Lovell, Michael McPhail, Angela, Jo Medina, Amaury Nora, Weston Norton, Michael Stapp, Tanya Tarr, Matthew Tejada, Mykle Tomlinson, Glynn Wilcox, Andy Wilson, Alex Winslow, and Curt Yowell. (more at

Rep. Sylvester Turner introduces our 2011 Next Gen Leaders.
Photo - Next Gen Leaders

Food catered by
CinnaMan Desserts, Creative Creations Catering, and Hoover’s. Coffee courtesy of Central Market. Chocolate samples courtesy of Miles of Chocolate.

Invitation, program and poster artwork
The incomparable Libby Farris.

Documentary photographer Alan Pogue.

Rabble Rouser Committee
These outstanding supporters were tireless and we are tremendously grateful for their extraordinary effort.  Hats off to a great group of dedicated organizers for throwing such a fabulous party! Special recognition to sub-committee chairs Kate Fain, registration, and Cherry Kugle and Carlton Carl, silent auction. And a big thanks to committee members Nancy Alliegro, Rachel Farris, Molly Moore, Susan Morris, Laurie Payne, Abby Rapoport, Sharron Rush, Eric Scott, Luba Sinclair, Betsy Thaggard, Viviane Tondeur and Nancy Williams.

Our fabulous auction donors
The ACLU of Texas, All Things Considered, Jeanne Arquel, Austin Film Festival, Brenda Berstis, Sarah Bird, Carlton Carl, Cinnaman Villa, Candace Duval, Alison Eden, Face the Nation, Ty & Kate Fain, George Farris, Gordon Fowler, Fresh Air, Barry George, Ellen Gibbs, Malcolm Greenstein, Ann Hartley, Ann Herbage, Jim Hightower, Allan & Louise Hirst, Jim Holland, Inn Above Onion Creek, D’Ann Johnson, Janet Eager Krueger, Cherry Kugle, Dick Lavine, Dick Leverich, Laura Maclay, Vivian Mahlab, Phil Mathis, Glen Maxey, Davis McLarty, The Melancholy Ramblers, Miles of Chocolate, Betsy Moon, Elliott Naishtat, The Natural Gardener, Nancy Neavel, Paula’s Texas Spirits, Alan Pogue, Amie Rodnick, Ben Sargent, Diana Seidel, Barbara Schlief, Sleeping Dogs Studio, Paul Stekler, Sarah Stevens, Ellen Sweets, Taylor-Made Tutoring, Tesoros Trading Co., Texas A&M University Press, Texas Healing Arts Institute, University of Texas Press, C.D. Weaver, Witliff Galleries, and Doug Zabel.

Until next year, keep Rabble Rousing and fighting to fix the world

…and have fun doing it!

Do you think free access to journalism like this is important? The Texas Observer is known for its fiercely independent, uncompromising work—which we are pleased to provide to the public at no charge in this space. That means we rely on the generosity of our readers who believe that this work is important. You can chip in for as little as 99 cents a month. If you believe in this mission, we need your help.

You May Also Like:

  • At the Eloise Woods Natural Burial Park in Bastrop, bodies are buried in biodegradable containers.

    How to Die in Texas

    The funeral industry has long been characterized by shady practices. In Texas, the bereaved are starting to look for new options.
  • Shourav Dasari.

    Young Texans Keep Spelling Bees Going From Home

    When the Scripps National Spelling Bee was canceled in March, two former competitors from The Woodlands stepped up to organize a virtual bee. Now, other bees are following suit.
  • Lourdes Salinas stands in the elevated spot where she made phone calls and helped to evacuate residents during the June 2018 flood.


    Colonias on the Texas-Mexico border are hit hard even by small storms. For a local nonprofit, the solution lies in affordable, sustainable housing. But how do you rebuild in an area that keeps flooding?