The 2010 Molly National Journalism Prize


The MOLLY National Journalism Prize

We are the deciders... so keep fightin for freedom and justice.

We Invite You

to join us for the

MOLLY National Journalism Prize Awards Dinner

Thursday, June 10, 2010

6:30-7 pm Cocktail Reception
7 pm Seated Dinner

    Four Seasons Hotel

    98 San Jacinto Boulevard, Austin, Texas map

    The MOLLY is awarded anually for an article or series of articles, columns, or stories that need telling, challenge conventional wisdom, focus on civil liberties and social injustice and embody the intelligence, deep thinking and passion that marked Molly’s work.


    Seymour Hersh
    Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist


    Wendy Davis
    Texas State Senator

    Award Presentation

    Steven L. Isenberg
    Executive Director, PEN America

    Honorary Chairs

    Bernard and Audre Rapoport



    Mary Margaret & Ray Farabee

    Melissa Jones

    Susan Longley

    James Moriarty

    Randy Parten

    Audre & Bernard Rapoport

    Wayne Reaud

    Nelson Roach

    Donna & George Shipley

    Nina & Michael Zilkha


    Becky Beaver & John Duncan / Nancy Scanlan

    Carol Barger

    Lisa Blue Baron

    Don Carleton, Dolph Briscoe Center for American History

    Gara LaMarche, Atlantic Philanthropies

    Mary Nell & Phil Mathis

    Lynn & Tom Meredith, MFI Foundation

    Chula Reynolds, AKR Foundation

    Sharron Rush & Ron Hicks

    Sunny & Shelton Smith

    Pat & Bud Smothers


    ACLU of Texas & Friends, Frances Barton & Dr. Dick Leverich & Friends, Larry and Katherine Buck Fund of the Houston Jewish Community Foundation, Carlton Carl, Claudia & Otis Carroll, Patrick Cox / Earnest Perry, American Journalism Historians Association, Jan Demetri & Jim Davis, Janet Dewey & Bob Ozer, Ernestine Glossbrenner, Cha Guzman & Gilberto Ocañas / Geronimo Rodriquez, Susan & Clint Hackney, Hartley Hampton & Meg Boulware, Sandie Haverlah / Jeff Crosby & Friends, Clare Hudspeth & Friends, Cynthia Keever, Libby & Dale Linebarger, Jim Marston & Annette LaVoi / Kathy Guido & Alfred Stanley, Conrad Martin, Stewart R. Mott Foundation, Mrs. Jim “Marta” Mattox, Sandie McClellan / Suzy & Bill Reid, Suzanne McDaniel, Barbara Morgan & Jerry Galow, Susan Morris & Richard Donnelly & Friends, Carrin Patman, Janis & Joe Pinnelli, Jean & Dan Rather, Alec Rhodes, Ellen & Buddy Temple, Kelly White & Bill McLellan, Suzanne & Marc Winkelman


    Mary Margaret Farabee & Susan Longley, Co-Chairs • Frances Barton • Becky Beaver • Carlton Carl • Jan Demetri • Karen Farabee • Carol Flake • Clare Hudspeth • Melissa Jones • Mary Jo Kennard • Joan Lava • Charlotte McCann • Sandie McClellan • Barbara Morgan • Nona Niland • Janis Pinnelli • Suzy Reid • Margie Rine • Geoff Rips • Nancy Scanlan • Sunny Smith • Sara Speights • Margot Thomas • Kelly White • Caryl Yontz

    Sponsorships available: Contact Mary Margaret Farabee at 512.441.0292 or [email protected] or click here.

    Single seat tickets at $150 each: Contact The Texas Observer at 800-939-6620 or click here.