Page 2


IWe are the deciders…so keep fightin’ for -freedom and. justice, beloveds, but don t you forget to have fun doin.’ it. MOLLY IVINS ‘s ,.. Ora o-part series “Katrina’s Hidden Race War” and “Body of Evidence” The Nation efra Bart ic for “The Inteligence Factory: How America Makes Its Enemies Disappear” Harp agaz for “For Their Own Good” Houston Press The MOLLY Prize Dinner of 2010, held June 10 in Austin, recognized superior journalism in the spirit of Molly Ivins, celebrated her remarkable presence in all our lives and helped The Texas Observer continue to deliver top -notch reporting to Texas and the nation. The Observer family extends its deepest gratitude to the following sponsors, presenters, special guests, committee members and staff, without whose extraordinary contributions the event would have been not only impossible, but no fun at all. THE MOLLY NATIONAL JOURNALISM PRIZE SPONSORS 1-1Ric ift’l<1;.1k EltS Carol Barger AUTI Cha Guzman & Gilberto Ocaiias Sandie McClellan Mary Margaret & Ray Farabee Lisa Blue Baron ACLU of Texas & Friends Geronimo Rodriquez Suzy & Bill Reid Melissa Jones Don Carleton, Dolph Briscoe Frances Barton & Dr. Dick Susan & Clint Hackney Suzanne McDaniel Susan Longley Center for American History Leverich & Friends Hartley Hampton & Barbara Morgan & Jerry Galow James Moriarty Gara LaMarche, Atlantic Larry and Katherine Buck Fund Meg Boulware Susan Morris & Richard Donnelly Randy Parten Philanthropies of the Houston Jewish Sandie Haverlah Jeff Crosby & Friends Audre & Bernard Rapoport Mary Nell & Phil Mathis Community Foundation & Friends Carrin Patman Wayne Reaud Lynn & Tom Meredith, MFI Carlton Carl Clare Hudspeth & Friends Janis & Joe Pinnelli Nelson Roach Foundation Claudia & Otis Carroll Cynthia Keever Jean & Dan Rather Donna & George Shipley Chula Reynolds, AKR Foundation Patrick Cox Earnest Perry, Libby & Dale Linebarger Alec Rhodes Nina & Michael Zillch a Sharron Rush & Ron Hicks American Journalism Jim Marston & Annette LoVoi Ellen & Buddy Temple Sunny & Shelton Smith Historians Association Kathy Guido & Alfred Stanley Kelly White & Bill McLellan Pat & Bud Smothers Jan Demetri & Jim Davis Conrad Martin, Stewart R. Mott Becky Beaver & John Duncan Suzanne & Marc Winkelman Janet Dewey & Bob Ozer Foundation Nancy Scanlan Ernestine Glossbrenner Mrs. Jim "Marta" Mattox STEERING COMMITTEE Mary Margaret Farabee & Susan Longley, Co-Chairs Frances Barton Becky Beaver Carlton Carl Jan Demetri Karen Farabee Carol Flake Clare Hudspeth Melissa Jones Mary Jo Kennard Joan Lava Charlotte McCann Sandie McClellan Barbara Morgan Nona Niland Janis Pinnelli Suzy Reid Margie Rine Geoff Rips Nancy Scanlan Sunny Smith Sara Speights Margot Thomas Kelly White Carol Yontz TEXAS OBSERVER STAFF Bob Moser, Editor Julia Austin Candace Carpenter Melissa Del Bosque Dave Mann Michael May Shane Pearson Abby Rapoport Jen Reel Chris Tomlinson Forrest Wilder SPECIAL, THANKS TO Sen. Wendy Davis The Four Seasons Hotel Seymour Hersh Steven L. Isenberg Bernard & Audre Rapoport Ben Sargent M 0 L Lys., , atiofiai Vetwil a ff i;wil YJrize RECOGNIZING SUPERIOR JOURNALISM IN THE TRADITION OF MOLLY IVINS