Page 7


conservative. At the instance of plaintiffs’ lawyers and organized labor in Fort Worth, Walter E. Steimel, a Fort Worth lawyer with a good deal of plaintiff practice, was lined up for the race. Then as the filing deadline neared pressure was brought on Steimel to forget it; the lawyers had clearly changed their minds. Steimel by this time was determined to make the race anyway, and got in. It is widely thought in Fort Worth and in the Creighton district \(southern Tarrant County and eight other counties west and Ben Barnes was instrumental in the plaintiff attorneys’ about-face. Barnes long has been close to and supported by these lawyers. For instance, in 1967 Barnes got two pieces of legislation the plaintiff lawyers favored passed in the House, when Barnes was speaker. Then, in 1969, Barnes, as lieutenant governor, interceded in behalf of the bill that stripped governmental units of immunity from prosecution for tort Austin Twelve of Texas’ 23 members of the U.S. House of Representatives are unopposed for reelection this year. Cong. George Bush’s giving up his seat to run against U.S. Sen. Ralph Yarborough has spawned an eight-way race in Houston to succeed him in Congress. Only two Texas congressmen appear to be in any sort of danger for reelection. They are conservatives Earle Cabell of Dallas and Richard C. White of El Paso. Cabe11 will face State Sen. Mike McKool in the Democratic primary and, if he wins that, three Republicans in the fall. McKool has a good organization and should give Cabell a strong race. Among the Republicans is Frank Crowley, an attractive, intelligent Republican who formerly was a Dallas County commissioner. White is facing Raymond Telles, a well-known chicano who has held ambassadorial posts in the federal government and was the first brown mayor of El Paso. Two Republicans will vie for the right to take on the White-Telles winner. In Houston Cong. Bob Casey is expected to win reelection over two opponents, one of whom, Paul Haring, a liberal attorney, ran an interesting and colorful though unsuccessful race against Railroad Cmsr. Byron Tunnell in 1966. Haring was having trouble raising the $4,250 filing fee but said he would make the deadline for paying it, earlier this week. G.O. claims, an act that will significantly enlarge the practice of plaintiffs’ attorneys. \(Obs., If Barnes did indeed intercede with the plaintiffs’ lawyers in an attempt to get Steimel out of the race, or to cut off the attorneys’ support of him, it is thought that Barnes , would have pledged to moderate Creighton’s voting record in the future as to bills dear to the lawyers’ hearts. Another reason Barnes might have interceded is that Creighton carried the groceries tax bill in the Senate, a measure which Barnes supported, at least tacitly \(Obs., FOUR MEN, three of them current House members, have filed for the Antonio. Rep. Glenn Kothmann, a liberal, and Rep. Lamoine Holland, a conservative, are expected to fight it out in a runoff in the Democratic primary in which the third 5.6.unopposed. 7.against Sen. Ralph Yarborough. W. Kendall Baker all of Houston. 13.14.unopposed. 15.16.17.unopposed. 18.19.unopposed. 20.Antonio, unopposed. 21.22.23.unopposed. man is Don Hand. Berry’s support went to Kothmann when it became clear the senator would not run again. Rep. Jim Nowlin, who compiled a moderately liberal voting record as a House Democrat last year, has switched parties and will challenge the Democratic primary winner for Berry’s seat. It is thought that Nowlin figured to run third in the field as’ a Democrat; by switching parties he is assured of a berth in the finals, though of course other reasons may also have played a role in his party switch. Erasmo Andrade, San Antonio, one of the leaders of the Valley farmworkers’ march on Austin in 1966, is challenging Sen. Wayne Connally, Floresville. Andrade’s chances of victory are slight indeed. Lindley Beckworth, Longview, the former congressman, is favored to win the Senate seat being vacated by Jack Strong. He will be opposed in the fall by Republican John F. Warren, Tyler. Veteran Sen. Grady Hazlewood, Canyon, who is retiring from Austin public life, will be succeeded by one of five candidates, most likely Republican Representative Abraham. Four Democrats seeking Hazlewood’s seat include Jack Knapp, Jr., Mrs. Nancy Moyer \(the wife of Sherman, all of Amarillo. Conservative Democrat Donald K. Shipley, a former House member, is the favorite to succeed the retiring Sen. Criss Cole of Houston. Shipley will be opposed by James P. Wallace, a liberal attorney, and George Polk, who is to the right of Shipley. Two Republicans, Abraham Farrior and Howard Moon, will meet the Democratic winner next fall but the Democratic nominee likely will win the seat. Unopposed for reelection are conservative Sens. J. P. Word of Meridian, Blanchard of Lubbock, Murray Watson of Waco, and Jack Hightower of Vernon, and liberal Chet Brooks of Pasadena. Not facing reelection this year are the conservatives Hall, A. M. Aikin Jr. of Paris, Joe Christie of El Paso, Henry C. Grover of Houston, Ike Harris of Dallas, Charles Herring of Austin, William T. Moore of Bryan, W. E. Snelson of Midland, and the liberals McKool, Jim Bates of Edinburg, Ronald Bridges of Corpus Christi, Barbara Jordan of Houston, William N. Patman of Ganado, A. R. Schwartz of Galveston, and Charles Wilson of Lufkin. N THE HOUSE races, perhaps the most interesting is veteran conservative Rep. Ben Atwell’s being challenged by liberal Dave Moss in Dallas. Moss is a leader of Senator Yarborough’s forces there and was featured in Life magazine last fall during the Vietnam Moratorium. Atwell, the head of the House Taxation and Revenue Committee, and a blue ribbon March 6, 1970 5 1 Congressional Races